Sad Whispers….

So yesterday mom was a little sad, tried as I might, I couldn’t get her to break free from the demons she holds inside, she smiles and pretends to be a happy little soul but when it’s just me and her in the stable, I know she isn’t, she buries her face in my mane and inhales my smell, she hugs me so tight and I just stand, willing her to feel the love I have for her, after all she is my bringer of hay, my feed lady, my shoe payer, my personal maid and my everything. 

I wish mum knew that she was enough, the battles she faces are etched in the sadness in her eyes, I’m sure others don’t notice but I do, you see I was the same, years ago, almost dead in the eye but my mum, she made them shine bright again. I want to be able to save her like she saved me, maybe I already am. 

I make her laugh when I do my head over the door dance, she loves to hear me call just for her when she arrives at the yard. I wish I could be with her all the time so she doesn’t feel the loneliness anymore, and as for the person who did this to her, I’d like to double barrel their backside right across this yard, how dare they break down my beautiful mum, and stand by and watch as she shatters without caring one jot and carrying on as normally as before. 

One day I’ll make her believe she was good enough and she is worth it. But for now I’ll just stand and give her my love whilst she cries her tears in my mane. 

Love Kia.X. 

Leave a Reply

